invincible summers

in the middle of winter I at last discovered that there was in me an invincible summer. (albert camus)

Please help prevent a death May 3, 2009

times are bad. i know. i see the familiar unemployment check every week. fortunately i’ve been busy (hence my disappearance from here) and i’m just waiting for the money to come in. Regardless, this horribly tragic case below needs attention: quickly. donate what you can afford. i did $10.00 for now. every little bit will help…save a life!!!

from beyond meds:

I casually mentioned a fundraiser the other day and said I would not ask for money again, at least not for long time. Well something has come up. And I am asking for money again. It’s not for me, it’s for a sister victim and close dear friend who has been poisoned by these drugs and may die.

She needs to detox rapidly because her situation is so dire. I turned her onto the best rapid medical detox center in the country which I would only do in this sort of situation when death is the alternative to not withdrawing more slowly. They have accepted her with her medical frailty, but she does not have the money and her family, who does have the money, think she is crazy. They do not believe that she may die when in fact she may already be close to death.

Her brief email to me follows:

“But really wanted to let you know I have been diagnosed with “encephalopathy” which has actually been around since at least July but my neurologist is finally admitting is from the Ativan. It is known as “hepatic encephalopathy” and is a liver issue and is the cause for my wandering, inability to take any other meds or supplements and cognitive disturbances. Also why Valium made me convulse and Depakote made me angry. Diagnosed through an EEG. I am trying to power down in a rapid taper, but am so ill I do not know what will happen. My GI in June will be able to diagnose severity if I make it till then. I am on their emergency list.”

If you read the wikipedia entry I link to you will see that, indeed, Ativan, a benzo can lead to this disease.

I have already pledged to her the money you’ve already donated which amounts to $120 dollars. Now I ask that many more of you donate 5, 10, 15 or as much as you can afford. We might be able to help save a life. She, too, is reaching out to friends now for small donations. Someone has already agreed to pay her airfare.

Please help. My friend is 30 years old. And she is a real friend and someone I love very much. Someone I’ve met and hugged and cried with in person.

We have become so close because so many of our symptoms and problems are similar and we’ve been able to share deeply in a way few people can. Most people don’t know what it is to be so profoundly ill all because of the drugs. We share despair and anger, love and hope for a better future for others.

This post is about the same friend. It’s now clear the reason she was suicidal was this encephalopathy.

click HERE to donate! Please.

and feel free to SPREAD THIS APPEAL FAR AND WIDE IF YOU FEEL SO INCLINED.

 

13 Responses to “Please help prevent a death”

  1. stan Says:

    save a life!!! This one has me really confused to be quite honest.

    Maybe someone will explain this seemingly strange twist of events for me here

    Please Help Prevent a death? donate to whom? Where did the money go, since this friend isn’t in a detox now; or appears to be going anytime soon? I believe an impression was made that this was a dire emergency?

    Then Gianna through a revelation deemed she needed this intervention after a couple a days of fund raising? Now she is the only one that is going to a “very fru-fru detox center” at the end of the day?

    Oh well, this dying friend is resourceful, she’ll figure out a way right!

    Maybe I’m just not seeing something here? maybe I’m missing a key part of the puzzle? Maybe I am just too Leary of fund raisers for unnamed people?

    I’m sure we’ll all get a good explanation and clarification from the “very fru-fru detox center” soon that will clear up any misunderstandings or confusing impressions that may have been made.

  2. clementine Says:

    Stan,

    I’m not really sure how you are confused by this. It’s pretty clear-even to a me, a girl who has only slept 25 hours the past week and a half due to her work schedule.

    and Gianna quotes:

    “She needs to detox rapidly because her situation is so dire. I turned her onto the best rapid medical detox center in the country which I would only do in this sort of situation when death is the alternative to not withdrawing more slowly. They have accepted her with her medical frailty, but she does not have the money and her family, who does have the money, think she is crazy. They do not believe that she may die when in fact she may already be close to death.”

    THIS STATEMENT is all that is important. I didn’t need her name to donate. I donated because I care about anyone (even nameless, faceless men, women and children) who are going through what she is going through.

    and you said:

    “Then Gianna through a revelation deemed she needed this intervention after a couple a days of fund raising? Now she is the only one that is going to a “very fru-fru detox center” at the end of the day?

    Oh well, this dying friend is resourceful, she’ll figure out a way right!”

    it saddens me tremendously to hear that tone in your voice. your words about her figuring out a way because she is resourceful upset me. we are all in this boat together. I would think you would understand that. You MUST know that Gianna is herself sick. and she is taking the time to help a friend in need….regardless of which center this friend goes to…that is not the point. Gianna’s fund-raising and her caring spirit speak volumes about her especially in her state. That’s all I care about. Helping her. Helping her friend. Helping anyone who is going through this. that is all that should matter. can you not agree with that?

  3. stan Says:

    Dear Clem:

    I will agree to disagree here! I asked relevant questions from someone who is asking for $10,000 Dollars with no oversight.

    But do as you wish, and I will continue to question the hypocrisy of it all.

    “this dying friend is resourceful, she’ll figure out a way” That is paraphrasing Gianna’s words

    Stan

  4. clementine Says:

    yes, i guess we will. but where is the hypocrisy?

    i thought we were all compassionate human beings willing to help one another out? I would do the same for anyone in this situation regardless of whether or not I know them personally. I do not understand why you’re not willing to do the same? even if you choose not to donate, that is fine… it’s more about your questioning of this fund-raising.

    Your comment felt a bit off-putting to say the least. If I were this girl and a friend started a fundraiser, I would be extremely grateful. It’s simply one friend helping another out. One human being helping another out. What is wrong with that?

    It seems as if you think this person is not real. If that is the case, what led you to think or believe that? Simply because she was unnamed? You know too many people whose lives have been destroyed by these drugs. We all do. What matters is, we are all in the same boat. At least I thought we were. I consider myself lucky not to be in her position, ie. in dire need of treatment. but I truly cannot fathom why you are questioning this-maybe I’m missing something-maybe you need to be more clear as to what your concerns are.

    I don’t think Gianna was asking for $10,000-I read it as, donate what you can whether it be $5, $10 or $15 dollars or something to that effect. To help save a life. A ‘real’ girl in a dire situation. It could be me. It could be you. It could be anyone. Again, we all know people who have been damaged by these drugs and to raise questions about someone simply trying to help out a fellow victim of big pharma….well, I just don’t understand. If this person were my friend- I would have started a fundraiser. I would think you would do the same if a friend of yours was in this situation. and you know why we sometimes don’t use our real names or go unnamed…hence my alias here. So, I guess…tell me what the hypocrisy is..

  5. stan Says:

    Dear Clem:

    Hypocricy is Right Here in this link, and if you don’t believe this fine; end of discussion.

    http://missionlocal.org/2009/04/nutritional-detox-facility-gets-walloped/

  6. […] Meds Center in San Francisco, you may want to ask her where your money is really going. If you are supporting this fundraiser yourself, you may wish to do some more research on this […]

  7. clementine Says:

    stan,

    the article you linked sounds like some neighbors afraid of ‘crazy’ people being anywhere near them. besides, this girl I donated to might not even be going there. the point is: it doesn’t matter.

    i donated a small amount out of love and compassion-you can call me and others naive as you refer to in your blog: “there are also those that will use these very same causes to pray on the uninformed, innocent, naive, unquestioning, and good intended people for profit, greed, or like crimes of victimization”

    but it was MY CHOICE. I do have that freedom. I know for a fact I was not preyed upon in this case. although i am very familiar with organizations and people that do prey on people. my grandmother was once taken for $2,500.

    in this case, i was helping out a fellow victim of big pharma, whose family shunned her. i thought we were all in the same boat-understanding, loving, caring and compassionate people. maybe i am naive in that regard.

    and the above pingback is an unfortunate website created by, well, someone in your town. i think he/she should come out of the closet. who would have ever thought someone in our circle would create such a website specifically slandering a fellow victim of big pharma. so, yes, i will admit to being naive there as well. and hurt and baffled.

  8. Stephany Says:

    Toronto, Ontario landed on http://bipolar-stanscroniclesandnarritive.blogspot.com/2009/
    21:18:59 — 14 hours 44 mins ago

    I too, was shocked to read that website via the link from the commenter at Stan’s blog, and looked at the feedjit meter (that is public viewing on stan’s side bar showing where people come from).

    It looks like the person who created the blog is in Toronto, Ontario and started that blog in April with a different topic post against Gianna.

    Has anyone alerted Gianna of this site?

  9. clementine Says:

    steph,

    i don’t know. this is what i do know: when the may 11th post when up and he/she linked my site, my stats show a ___________, Washington address at the exact time the post went up and he/she was at my site for 20 or more minutes.

    Regardless…this kind of website disturbs me for many reasons: it is cruel, it is slandering and without compassion. Everything I am against in my heart, mind and body.

    I found out about this website when I received a pingback in my inbox. So, I visited the site, I was shocked at the personal attacks. If someone started a blog personally attacking me, I wouldn’t want to know about it….however….

    I would imagine Gianna knows as the blog clearly links her site numerous times and she would, I assume, received pingbacks like I did. I simply feel for her…anyone in our circle to be attacked by a fellow member is baffling, cruel and saddening when she was simply trying to help a friend. That is what I call compassion. And when I say ‘our circle’ I mean anyone who is suffering from the results of the drugs Big Pharma and bad doctors, etc have pumped into our bodies and nearly destroyed us and in some cases, as you know…killed us.

    I don’t think this website was started by an outsider. and honestly, sorry, I am over talking about this. I started my blog more than three years as a form of therapy for me and to help others not feel so alone. and now we have attackers in our own circle. it’s enough to make me walk away from my blog forever.

    I’m sure I won’t be missed by most and that is okay.

  10. Stephany Says:

    Well, I have no idea who it is either, I saw it as a result of the comment they left on Stan’s blog, by clicking their name.

  11. Stephany Says:

    I won’t go on anymore about this, but just so you know the person who writes the blog verified in their comment section they are the author and no one here is.

  12. will hall Says:

    I know both of the people involved with Gianna’s fundraising effort, and it saddens me that anyone would think this is some kind of trick. It’s not.
    The opposition to the Alternative To Meds Center looks like it follows a longstanding pattern in our society: neighbors, out of fear and concern for their property values, opposing any kind of mental health services being sited near them. That is holistic is not really the issue here: it’s fear of crazy people bringing down home equity or being violent.
    The existence of this Center is a courageous act and should be supported. I too wish it was cheaper, but if you look at the long-term costs for some people who get harmed by medication and are chronically disabled. what the Center is offering is cost-effective. More services like this can help drive down the costs and encourage mainstream funding and insurance reimbursment. I also think that when you get high-end services and demonstrate the existence of a market, it encourages less expensive versions to emerge. Acupuncture is an example, we now have low-cost group treatments being offered in growing numbers. – Will Hall

  13. clementine Says:

    will,

    thank you so very much for your eloquent words. you said what i tried to say in the comments section, only much, much better! The fear and longstanding pattern in our society…that is something I am very familiar with.

    and i love acupuncture. it has worked better than any psychiatric medication i’ve taken over the past 20 years!

    my best to you…


Leave a Reply

