invincible summers

in the middle of winter I at last discovered that there was in me an invincible summer. (albert camus)

SICK of big pharma and doctors March 2, 2009

I must begin by saying I’ve been sick since before or on the week of February 16th, it’s been so long, I can’t remember. It began with a sinus infection and after taking a 5 day Z-pak, well, I got sicker. Go figure. I don’t know why I’m surprised. I’m thinking I’m pretty close to pneumonia at this point, I have all the symptoms minus the fever. I’ve had horrible side effects and found via this website that my side effects are not uncommon. Not to get too terribly gross here but constant diarrhea (with blood one day), no taste buds, heavy chest congestion, headaches, body aches, exhaustion, dehydration (no matter how much water I drink) and constant drainage. I’ve taken a Z-pak before, years ago, and had zero side effects. Something has changed and something tells me Big Pharma is involved. I believe Pfizer produces the Z-pak. Needless to say, this post might not make sense being that I’m way beyond feeling good. And none of this is easy dealing with when you are uninsured.

If you’re not a regular reader you might wonder why I am SICK of big pharma and doctors. First of all, let me state, I do feel lucky. Don’t get me wrong. I could be dealing with an incurable cancer, I could have an incurable disease, RRP, that my sister has. I know that I am lucky. However, for nearly 23 years I have been dealing with a mental illness. Fighting the good fight. I’ve spent tens of thousands of dollars on therapy, hospitals, medications, etc. None of which worked. period. Most importantly, I continue to run into these stories:

Recently news broke that AstraZeneca buried Seroquel studies. Just take a look at part of the story if you don’t feel like clicking on the link, but I suggest you read the entire story and do your own research:

AstraZeneca “buried” unfavorable studies on its antipsychotic drug Seroquel, according to an internal e-mail unsealed as part of litigation over the medicine.

The drugmaker failed to publicize results of at least three clinical trials of Seroquel and engaged in “cherry picking” of data from one of those studies for use in a presentation, an AstraZeneca official said in a December 1999 e-mail unsealed yesterday under an agreement between the company and lawyers for patients. The London-based company faces about 9,000 lawsuits claiming it failed to properly warn users that Seroquel can cause diabetes and other health problems.

“The larger issue is how we face the outside world when they begin to criticize us for suppressing data,” John Tumas, an AstraZeneca publications manager, told colleagues in the e-mail.

More than 15,000 patients have sued AstraZeneca, claiming the company withheld information of a connection between diabetes and Seroquel use from doctors and patients. Many of the lawsuits also claim AstraZeneca promoted Seroquel, approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration for schizophrenia and bipolar disorder, for unapproved uses.

So, yes, I am once again not happy with Big Pharma. I lost my maternal grandmother to diabetes, she was (for the majority of her life) in the hands of big pharma and the barbaric procedures back in the day. I must wonder if she might still be alive had it not been for the multiple pills she took over her lifetime and the EST, etc. I sadly wonder if I will die too young like she did. Back to Seroquel, luckily, I quit taking it several years ago. But, and this is important, numerous doctors repeatedly attempted to prescribe it, even after I told them I gained 40 or so pounds on it and it left me feeling like a zombie. I had well-paid psychiatrists try to prescribe the drug knowing that diabetes runs on both sides of my family, my father is also diabetic. And yet, they did not care. I label these doctors corrupt for a very good reason. People die every single day because of these drugs. The blood is on their hands and Big Pharma’s hands. plain and simple. It saddens and angers me beyond belief.

And so, here I sit, still fighting the good fight. Mostly for my sweet grandmother who I miss dearly. Outside of those of you who regularly read my blog, my swain and a few others-she is the only other one who would understand. I want to go back in time and prevent her early death. But, I cannot. So, I fight. I fight the doctors that try to convince me I am wrong. I fight big pharma. I email my local congressmen and president. And I will do so until the day I die.

I am happy to say, I am completely med-free in regards to antidepressants and antipsychotics. I finally tapered off the Celexa and never opened the Effexor sample pack. I will soon return to acupuncture. I am still taking Xanax to deal with the many anxieties that arise due to the daily stresses of my life and living with a “mental illness”.

To read more on the buried Seroquel studies, please click here. You’ll find an abundance of information and fantastic journalistic research, something hard to find these days. It is time, we the people, take control of our minds and bodies. It is time we stop big pharma and these corrupt doctors. Why don’t you google “Joseph Biederman” just to get a taste.

I will end by saying, you have most likely found this blog by doing your own research, whether it be googling “Seroquel” or “antipyschotics”, etc. I beg you to continue to do your own research. I am not a doctor but I might as well have a degree. On most days, I feel I know more than my doctors from the internists to the psychiatrists. I am simply a girl that has been misdiagnosed over and over and I’ve been fed medications that do not work. 23 years of that. I was 13 when I saw my first psychiatrist. I feel I have some experience here. Also, I urge you to check out a wonderful blog, Beyond Meds if you are thinking about discontinuing psychiatric medications. There are so many resources out there and Beyond Meds has the archives-spend time there, research, find the best path. For me, it will be acupuncture and vitamins, but it’s up to you to choose your path. I am simply stating that so many doctors can no longer be trusted and we certainly cannot trust Big Pharma. The latter does not care about you or your loved ones. They are in the business of keeping us sick, in my opinion. I speak mostly in regards to those diagnosed with a psychiatric disorder but I am finding western medicine and doctors today care less and prescribe more. My sweet, sweet Mom recently had several botched surgeries and she is still in pain. I hope she is able to travel the path of eastern medicine, soon. Of course we all know, there are good doctors. I know this personally. My sister’s doctors has saved her life over and over. I have nieces that would not be alive without western medicine as they were both born with CF. However, with my recent experience on the Z-pak and my mother’s surgeries, I am beginning to believe, something has gone horrible awry with western medicine.

 

4 Responses to “SICK of big pharma and doctors”

  1. Van Says:

    I’ve been missing you as well. It’s good to see you back (even if just a day).

    I, too, agree that I’ve reached a breaking point when it comes to doctors/pharma and am taking steps to address this.

    Shout out any time you wish!
    V

  2. Stephany Says:

    I’m glad to see you too. I hope you feel better soon!

  3. Van Says:

    BTW – I had a killer sinus infection back in 04, took a Z pak and it didn’t clear up. I had that infection for almost 3 months and still haven’t been the same…

  4. clementine Says:

    Van, oh great! I am STILL sick….

    crazy….what’s up with the Z pak??


Leave a Reply

