invincible summers

in the middle of winter I at last discovered that there was in me an invincible summer. (albert camus)

jim carrey slams long-term use of prozac December 17, 2008

Full disclosure: I love Jim Carrey. I admire his honesty about his life, his mental illness and I think he’s a great actor especially in Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, The Truman Show and Man on The Moon.

He was on Larry King Live and actually slammed long-term use of Prozac. There are a few bloggers out there comparing him to Tom Cruise (Scientology) but Jim’s message is right. In my opinion, it’s the others who need to educate themselves. I do not believe Jim is anti-meds like Scientologists, I think he’s simply anti-meds that do not work, have horrific side effects, make us sicker or those we know nothing about the long-term side effects and risks. and he’s not afraid to talk about all of this with the host of a popular show. Kudos to you, Jim!

Here’s a clip, although the entire interview is worth watching:
(2:06 minutes into clip)

Here is part of the transcript with the Prozac conversation:

KING: Didn’t you suffer from depression?
CARREY: Yes, yes. I’m on a manic high right now. Can’t you tell?
KING: How did you get through that to this?
CARREY: Well, that’s another thing. You know at the risk of like opening up the whole Tom Cruise Prozac argument, you know, I don’t disagree in many ways. I think Prozac and things like that are very valuable to people for short periods of time. But I believe if you’re on them for an extended period of time, you never get to the problem. You never get to see what the problem is, because everything is just kind of OK. And so, you don’t deal. And people deal when they get desperate.
KING: So how did you do it?
CARREY: I take supplements.
KING: Vitamins?
CARREY: Yes — well, it’s not — well, it is vitamins. But it’s also certain elements of the brain like Tyrocine (ph) and hydroxy tryptophan that they’re treating depression with now. It is a natural substance that’s in your brain. Instead of being a Serotonin inhibitor, which just uses the serotonin you have and Prozac and things like that — it just uses the Serotonin you have and it doesn’t allow it go back into the receptor. It metabolizes your serotonin after a while and you have to keep taking more and more to feel good. This actually creates dopamine and creates serotonin. It’s a wonderful thing. It’s amazing. I’m going to talk a lot about it in the near future.
KING: You’re going to write about it?
CARREY: Yes.
KING: Has coming through this made you a better performer, do you think?
CARREY: I think all experience — if you’re a performer, if you’re an artist, you ought to be able to take this table and make it into something. You know, you ought to be able to make something out of anything. And, so, you know, actors are just more emotional artists. They take — the paint is the emotion and the pain and the buttons that are pushed. Mine was you will never be enough, you know. So when I go to that place of never enough, something happens to me.

 

5 Responses to “jim carrey slams long-term use of prozac”

  1. giannakali Says:

    well it’s a little touchy feely and new agey, but I like everything he’s saying…

    I loved Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind…I do believe it’s one of my favorite all time movies…

    and he pretty much understands how some of the nutrients work…

  2. clementine Says:

    Eternal Sunshine, Amelie and Sunset Blvd are in my top five all time favorites. Eternal Sunshine is perfect and I believe part of that is because Jim went to a place he is very familiar with. That and the script/direction was wonderful.

    It seems some people are a little upset over at FS that Jim spoke out but this is my feeling on the whole subject and what I wrote at FS:

    Let us not forget Jim Carrey is a HUMAN BEING who has suffered from a mental illness for a long time. He has every right for his voice to be heard as much as we do. Yes, sure, because he’s a celebrity, he’s on Larry King Live and we’re blogging/writing on the internet, but that’s the kind of world we live in. I think it was the heart of his message that we should remember and/or consider—these drugs usually only work short-term. And he decided to choose another path. Good for him. Again, he is no different than anyone else who has a mental illness-he just happens to make a lot of money in Hollyweird but that shouldn’t discount his feelings and thoughts. Just my two stupid cents.

  3. giannakali Says:

    the people at FS can get so annoying…I just joined in…and will in turn annoy others…I wrote:

    oh for god sakes people…nutrients and amino acids work and they are not neurotoxic like Prozac…it’s not the same thing to take them instead of a neurotoxin

    I’m sick of all you people who don’t take peoples experience seriously..

    science does not have all the answers and sometimes anecdotes are valid…

    I’ve been in alternative to meds email groups for 3 years now…I’ve collected enough anecdotes to KNOW that many NATURAL substances with virtually no side effect profiles can help people…they are not the full and complete answer, people need to take care of the psyches and spirits too.

    frankly I don’t give a shit if he’s a celebrity or if he knows a damn thing about science…he knows how his body/mind and spirit feel with the help of amino acids…

  4. Stephany Says:

    i chimed in over there too, and quoted gianna’s last paragraph.

  5. fdup Says:

    look imho you should take anything if your life is hell. in case you forgot no matter what u eat or drink we all die in the end.
    so. do not get addicted but just consume if it helps you. and thats it.


Leave a Reply

